Cultural Spaces and Design

Prospects of Design Education

Throughout the discussions about globalisation and design, what has been missing until now are deliberations regarding necessary changes
towards a design education which puts conceptual acting in the context of global movements and problem situations.

This publication pleads for a revision of design education. It addresses students, teachers, and design practitioners. On the basis of concrete examples, concepts, methods and tools are presented for discussion. They can open up new directions and possibilities of design education.

Consequently, this book focuses on design students’ experiences and reflections as contributions to a design education understood as a school for differentiated perception. The local level – the respective Cultural Space – is appreciated as the actual hot spot of globalisation.

The book offers reports, case studies, analyses, and reflections by lecturers, artists, and students about their working experiences in Uzbekistan, the United Arab Emirates, Australia, New Zealand, Poland, Nigeria, Botswana, South Sudan, India, Canada, Albania, the USA and others.

Details

Editor: Regine Halter, Catherine Walthard
Format: 165 × 240 mm
Published in: Basel/Frankfurt a.M.
Year: 2019
Language/s: EN
Price (CHF): 45 CHF
Price (EUR): 45 EUR
ISBN: 978-3-906897-31-8
DOI: 10.19218/3906897318

Cultural Spaces and Design

Prospects of Design Education

In den Diskussionen zum Thema Globalisierung und Design fehlen bisher Überlegungen zu den damit notwendigen Veränderung einer Designausbildung, die gestalterisches Handeln (conceptual acting) in den Kontext globaler Bewegungen und Problemlagen stellt. Globalisation is a design issue.

Diese Publikation ist ein Plädoyer für die Revision der Designausbildung. Sie richtet sich an Studierende und Dozierende ebenso wie an Designpraktiker. In zahlreichen Beiträgen werden auf der Grundlage konkreter Beispiele Konzepte, Methoden und Werkzeuge zur Diskussion gestellt, die neue Möglichkeiten und Wege für die Designausbildung eröffnen.

Ihr Fokus liegt auf einem Verständis von Design als kultureller Praxis, als Bündelung expliziter Traditionen, kultureller Bindungen und latent wirksamer Formen des tacit knowledge. Dabei wird die lokale Ebene – der jeweilige cultural space – als der tatsächliche hot spot der Globalisierung verstanden.

Die Beiträge sind Erfahrungsberichte, Fallbeispiele, Analysen und Reflexionen von lecturers, artists, and students aus ihrer Arbeit in Uzbekistan, den Emirates, Australien, New Zealand, Botswana, Indien, Kanada, und den USA. Sie sind vor allem Beiträge in der Perspektive einer Designausbildung, die sich als Schule differenzierter Wahrnehmung versteht.

Details

Herausgeber: Regine Halter, Catherine Walthard
Format: 165 × 240 mm
Verlagsort: Basel/Frankfurt a.M.
Jahr: 2019
Sprache/n: EN
Preis (CHF): 45 CHF
Preis (EUR): 45 EUR
ISBN: 978-3-906897-31-8
DOI: 10.19218/3906897318